The Flood Animation Development

As I had said in the review of my Light and Time project, I wanted to create an animation version of my film. I had started to continuously develop this animation alongside while I did my other projects, however it has changed quite allot from my original vision for it.

Originally I was going to hand draw and then photograph each frame, however I soon realised that this was a very long process to do something that would be quicker and look allot cleaner on the computer. Although I wanted to capture the ink and water effect from my original storyboard, I did want it to look allot more sleek and clean – something that using a computer would enable me to do.

Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 18.01.31

Above is the original artwork I drew using a wacom drawing tablet and adobe Photoshop. I worked on this animation in my spare free time, however once I was reaching over 200 frames with the drips barely half way down the tree, I realised that I was probably being too detailed with each frame. Since I had been working on it for so long I also no longer liked how black and white the image was and wanted to bring in colour.

1

Using my new knowledge from being in the process of creating the pixel art for my video game, I made a pixel art version of the idea, with a moody purple/pink colour palette. I really like how this looks, and it’s allot quicker and easier to animate, as I can separate each frame into pixels.

Leave a Reply

